## May 4, 2021 Reorganization Meeting of the Board of Fire Commissioners

## District #3 in the Township of Hanover

#### County of Morris, Cedar Knolls, New Jersey

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. on May 4, 2021 in accordance with the Public Meeting Act of 1975, Chapter 231.

<u>Attendance</u>: Commissioners Michael Dugan Sr., Michael Dugan Jr., and Robert O'Hare were present. Commissioner Callas was absent.

Chief DiGiorgio, Administrator Schultz, Lt. DeSimone, Lt. McGuinness, FF Gilson, EMT Mockler, Fire Co. Member Bergen, and Hanover Township Committeeman Cahill were also in attendance.

<u>Swearing in of Commissioner Steven J. Cornine</u>: Commissioner O'Hare administered the oath of office to Commissioner Cornine while Commissioner Dugan Jr. held the Bible.

# Discussion of candidates for the two remaining vacancies, each now unexpired terms:

Commissioner O'Hare explained that the winning candidates for the remaining two vacancies on the Board declined the position. Commissioner O'Hare reported that the Board is allowed to appoint commissioners to fill these vacancies until the next election at which time the appointed commissioners can choose to run for a full term.

Commissioner O'Hare reported that the Board asked Mary Lou DeSimone to fill the 3-year unexpired term. Commissioner Dugan Jr. made a motion to appoint Mary Lou DeSimone to the 3-year unexpired term, seconded by Commissioner Cornine. Commissioner O'Hare read Resolution 21-05-04-32 appointing Mary Lou DeSimone to the 3-year unexpired term. All were in favor.

Commissioner O'Hare administered the oath of office to Commissioner DeSimone.

Commissioner O'Hare reported that the Board asked James Davidson to fill the 2=year unexpired term. Commissioner Cornine made a motion to appoint James Davison to the 2-year unexpired term, seconded by Commissioner Dugan Jr.

Commissioner O'Hare read Resolution 21-05-04-33 appointing James Davidson to the 2-year unexpired term. All were in favor.

Commissioner O'Hare administered the oath of office to Commissioner Davidson.

<u>Election of Members to Board Positions</u>: Administrator Schultz presided over the election of Members to the following Board positions: Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Treasurer, Secretary and Clerk.

Administrator Schultz entertained a motion by the members of the Board for the position of Chairman. Commissioner Davidson made a motion to nominate Commissioner O'Hare for the position of Chairman, seconded by Commissioner Dugan Jr. All were in favor.

Administrator Schultz entertained a motion by the members of the Board for the position of Vice-Chairman. Commissioner O'Hare made a motion to nominate Commissioner DeSimone for the position of Vice-Chairman, seconded by Commissioner Dugan Jr. All were in favor.

Administrator Schultz entertained a motion by the members of the Board for the position of Treasurer. Commissioner O'Hare made a motion to nominate Commissioner Davidson for the position of Treasurer, seconded by Commissioner Dugan Jr. All were in favor.

Administrator Schultz entertained a motion by the members of the Board for the position of Secretary. Commissioner Davidson made a motion to nominate Commissioner Cornine for the position of Secretary, seconded by Commissioner Dugan Jr. All were in favor.

Administrator Schultz entertained a motion by the members of the Board for the position of Clerk. Commissioners Davidson made a motion to nominate Commissioner Dugan Jr. for the position of Clerk, seconded by Commissioner DeSimone. All were in favor.

Administrator Schultz congratulated the Board members.

### **RESOLUTIONS:**

Commissioner Davidson made a motion to accept the following resolutions by consent agenda:

**Resolution 21-05-04-34** designating Official Depositories, Newspapers and Board Officers

Resolution 20-05-04-35 appointing Fire Official; Chief Chad J. DiGiorgio Resolution 20-05-04-36 authorizing Liaison to the Division of Fire Safety Chief; Chad J. DiGiorgio Resolution 20-05-04-37 appointing Auditor; Man Lee Resolution 20-05-04-38 appointing Accountant; Man Lee Resolution 20-05-04-39 appointing General Counsel; Richard Braslow, Esq.

**Resolution 20-05-04-40** appointing Counsel – Labor Matters; Stephen E. Trimboli, Esq.

**Resolution 20-05-04-41** ppointing Medical Provider; FastER Urgent Care **Resolution 20-05-04-42** appointing Pre-Hospital Medical Director; Dr. William Gluckman

Resolution 20-05-04-43 designating Surety Bonding for certain employees

Resolution 20-05-04-44 setting the meeting calendar for 2021 – 2022

**Resolution 20-05-04-45** approving Payment of Claims

**Resolution 20-05-04-46** appointing Engineering Services; Casey and Keller, Inc.

Commissioner Cornine seconded the motion. All were in favor.

ADJOURN: A motion was made by Commissioner Dugan Jr., seconded by Commissioner Davidson, to adjourn the meeting. All were in favor. The meeting was adjourned at 6:43 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by

Steven Cornine, Secretary